Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee

Program Co-Chairs

Ana Fred
Instituto de Telecomunicações and University of Lisbon

Brief Bio
Ana Fred received the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical and Computer Engineering, in 1989 and 1994, respectively, both from Instituto Superior Técnico (IST), Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal. She is a Faculty Member of IST since 1986, where she has been a professor with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and more recently with the Department of Biomedical Engineering. She is a researcher at the Pattern and Image Analysis Group of the Instituto de Telecomunicações. Her main research areas are on pattern recognition, both structural and statistical approaches, with application to data mining, learning systems, behavioral biometrics, and biomedical applications. She has done pioneering work on clustering, namely on cluster ensemble approaches. Recent work on biosensors hardware (including BITalino – and ECG-based biometrics (Vitalidi project) have been object of several nacional and internacional awards, as well as wide dissemination on international media, constituting a success story of knowledge transfer from research to market. She has published over 160 papers in international refereed conferences, peer reviewed journals, and book chapters. ... More >>

Frans Coenen
University of Liverpool
United Kingdom

Brief Bio
Prof Frans Coenen is a Professor of Computer Science at The University of Liverpool, UK. He has 36 years of experience of working in AI, ranging from early work on driverless ships to current work on deep and machine learning. He is particularly interested in the application of the techniques of Machine Learning to unusual data sets, such as: (i) graphs and social networks, (ii) time series, (iii) free text of all kinds, (iv) 2D and 3D images, particularly medical images, and (v) video data. He is also interested in data mining over encrypted data. He currently leads a small research group working on many aspects of Machine Learning and AI. He has some 450 refereed research publications, and has been on the programme committees for many Machine Learning and AI conferences and related events. He has supervised over 100 post-graduate research students and postdoctoral research associates, has a substantial research funding track record, and significant experience of working with industry. ... More >>


Amir Ahmad, United Arab Emirates University, United Arab Emirates
Mayer Aladjem, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
Eva Armengol, IIIA CSIC, Spain
Chandrajit Bajaj, The Machine Learning Research Group, United States
Rafael Berlanga, Universitat Jaume I, Spain
Marko Bohanec, Jožef Stefan Institute, Slovenia
Amel Borgi, Université de Tunis El Manar, Institut Supérieur d’Informatique, LIPAH, Tunisia
Nizar Bouguila, Concordia University, Canada
Jesús A. Carrasco-Ochoa, INAOE, Mexico
Zhiyuan Chen, University of Maryland Baltimore County, United States
Chih-ming Chen, National Chengchi University, Taiwan, Republic of China
Patrick M. Ciarelli, Universidade Federal do Espírito Santo, Brazil
Thanh-Nghi Do, College of Information Technology, Can Tho University, Vietnam
Antoine Doucet, University of La Rochelle, France
Markus Endres, University of Applied Sciences Munich, Germany
Georgios Evangelidis, University of Macedonia, Thessaloniki, Greece, Greece
Iaakov Exman, The Jerusalem College of Engineering - JCE - Azrieli, Israel
Pedro G. Ferreira, Faculty of Sciences, University of Porto, Portugal
Susan Gauch, University of Arkansas, United States
Udo Hahn, , Germany
Gerhard Heyer, , Germany
Victoria Hodge, Department of Computer Science, University of York, United Kingdom
Vasant Honavar, Pennsylvania State University, United States
Beatriz de la Iglesia, University of East Anglia, United Kingdom
Arti Jain, Jaypee Institute of Information Technology, India
Mouna Kamel, CNRS, France
Mehmed Kantardzic, University of Louisville, United States
Ron Kenett, KPA and the Samuel Neaman Institute, Technion, Israel
Ikuo Keshi, Fukui University of Technology, Japan
Margita Kon-Popovska, Ss Cyril and Methodius University, North Macedonia
Martin Krallinger, Barcelona Supercomputing Center National Center Supercomputing, Spain
Carson K. Leung, University of Manitoba, Canada
Jerry Chun-Wei Lin, Western Norway University of Applied Sciences, Norway
Rafael D. Lins, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil
Edwin Lughofer, Johannes Kepler University, Austria
Christos Makris, University of Patras, Greece
Giuseppe Manco, ICAR-CNR, Italy
Fabrizio Marozzo, University of Calabria, Italy
J. F. Martínez-Trinidad, Instituto Nacional de Astrofísica, Óptica y Electrónica, Puebla, Mexico
Dulani Meedeniya, University of Moratuwa, Sri Lanka
Manuel Montes y Gómez, INAOE, Mexico
Agnieszka Mykowiecka, Institute of Computer Science Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
Elias Oliveira, Universidade Federal do Espirito Santo, Brazil
Jan Paralic, Technická univerzita v Košiciach, Slovak Republic
James Pustejovsky, Brandeis University, United States
Marcos G. Quiles, Federal University of Sao Paulo - UNIFESP, Brazil
Georg Rehm, Deutsches Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz GmbH (DFKI), Germany
Claudio Sartori, Universita' di Bologna, Italy
Milos Savic, University of Novi Sad, Serbia
Filippo Sciarrone, Universitas Mercatorum, Italy
Wei Song, North China University of Technology, China
Wenlong sun, Independent Researcher, United States
Atsuhiro Takasu, National Institute of Informatics, Japan
Marco Temperini, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Kar A. Toh, Yonsei University, Korea, Republic of
Alicia Troncoso Lora, Pablo de Olavide University of Seville, Spain
Domenico Ursino, Università Politecnica delle Marche, Italy
Marco Viviani, Università di Milano-Bicocca, Italy
Jie Wang, University of Massachusetts, United States
Xing Wei, Pinterest Inc., United States
Nicola Zeni, University of Trento, Italy
Yi Zhang, University of Technology Sydney, Australia
Yan Zhang, California State University, San Bernardino, United States