Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee


Ana Fred
Instituto de Telecomunicações and Instituto Superior Técnico (University of Lisbon)

Brief Bio
Ana Fred received the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical and Computer Engineering, in 1989 and 1994, respectively, both from Instituto Superior Técnico (IST), Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal. She is a Faculty Member of IST since 1986, where she has been a professor with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and more recently with the Department of Biomedical Engineering. She is a researcher at the Pattern and Image Analysis Group of the Instituto de Telecomunicações. Her main research areas are on pattern recognition, both structural and statistical approaches, with application to data mining, learning systems, behavioral biometrics, and biomedical applications. She has done pioneering work on clustering, namely on cluster ensemble approaches. Recent work on biosensors hardware (including BITalino – and ECG-based biometrics (Vitalidi project) have been object of several nacional and internacional awards, as well as wide dissemination on international media, constituting a success story of knowledge transfer from research to market. She has published over 160 papers in international refereed conferences, peer reviewed journals, and book chapters. ... More >>


Sherief Abdallah, British University in Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Muhammad Abulaish, Department of Computer Science, South Asian University, India
Samad Ahmadi, Computer Science and Informatics, De Montfort University, United Kingdom
Maria J. Aramburu Cabo, Computer Science And Engineering, University Jaume I, Spain
Eva Armengol, IIIA CSIC, Spain
Zeyar Aung, Computing and Information Science, Masdar Institute of Science and Technology, United Arab Emirates
Márcio Basgalupp, DCT, Universidade Federal de São Paulo, Brazil
Rafael Berlanga Llavori, Computer Languages And Systems, University Jaume I, Spain
Isabelle Bichindaritz, Computer Science, SUNY at Oswego, United States
Marc Boullé, Independent Researcher, France
Keith C. Chan, Department of Computing, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
Meng C. Chen, Independent Researcher, Taiwan, Republic of China
Shu-Ching Chen, School Of Computing and Information Sciences, Florida International University, United States
Philipp Cimiano, University of Bielefeld, Germany
Juan M. Corchado, Department of Science Computer and Automation, University of Salamanca, Spain
Jerome Darmont, ERIC Lyon 2, Universite de Lyon, France
Luis M. de Campos, Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence, University of Granada, Spain
Emanuele Di Buccio, Department of Information Engineering, University of Padua, Italy
Giorgio Maria Di Nunzio, Department of Information Engineering, Università degli Studi di Padova, Italy
Marcos A. Domingues, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Dejing Dou, Computer and Information Science, University of Oregon, United States
Antoine Doucet, University of La Rochelle, France
Habiba Drias, Computer Science, USTHB, LRIA, Algeria
Tapio Elomaa, Computing Sciences, Tampere University, Finland
Iaakov Exman, School of Computer Science, HIT = Holon Institute of Technology, Israel
Philippe Fournier-Viger, Dept. Informatique, University of Moncton, Canada
Susan Gauch, CSCE, University of Arkansas, United States
Rosalba Giugno, University of Catania, Italy
Nuno P. Gonçalves, DSI, Superior School of Technology, Polithecnical Institute of Setúbal, Portugal
Daniel Gruhl, Independent Researcher, United States
Antonella Guzzo, DEIS, University of Calabria, Italy
Yaakov Hacohen-Kerner, Computer Science, Jerusalem College of Technology (Machon Lev), Israel
Greg Hamerly, Computer Science, Baylor University, United States
José Hernández-Orallo, Independent Researcher, Spain
Enrique Herrera-Viedma, University of Granada, Spain
Beatriz de la Iglesia, School of Computing Sciences, University of East Anglia, United Kingdom
Szymon Jaroszewicz, Department of Computer Science, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
Mouna Kamel, Equipe MELODI, IRIT, France
Ron S. Kenett, KPA and the Samuel Neaman Institute, Technion, Israel
Hagen Langer, University of Bremen, Germany
Anne Laurent, Lirmm, Montpellier University, France
Carson K. Leung, Department of Computer Science, University of Manitoba, Canada
Jiexun Li, Drexel University, United States
Xiaoli Li, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Xia Lin, College of Information Sience and Technology, Drexel University, United States
Berenike Litz, Independent Researcher, United States
Francisco Martínez Álvarez, Computer Science, Pablo de Olavide University of Seville, Spain
Edson T. Matsubara, Computer Science, UFMS, Brazil
Engelbert Mephu Nguifo, Computer Science Institute, LIMOS, Université Clermont Auvergne, France
Misael Mongiovi, Dipartimento di Matematica e Informatica, Università di Catania, Italy
Stefania Montani, DISIT, Computer Science Institute, Piemonte Orientale University, Italy
Manuel Montes y Gómez, INAOE, Mexico
Henning Müller, Business Information Systems, University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland, Switzerland
Mitsunori Ogihara, Computer Science, University of Miami, United States
Fabrício Olivetti de França, Universidade Federal do ABC, Brazil
Krzysztof Pancerz, University of Rzeszow, Poland
Luigi Pontieri, ICAR institute, National Research Council (CNR), Italy
Francois Poulet, University of Rennes 1 - IRISA, France
Ronaldo Prati, Centro de Matemática, Computação e Cognição, Universidade Federal do ABC, Brazil
Alfredo Pulvirenti, University of Catania, Italy
Marcos G. Quiles, Department of Science and Technology, Federal University of Sao Paulo - UNIFESP, Brazil
Bijan Raahemi, Telfer School of Management, University of Ottawa, Canada
Zbigniew W. Ras, Department of Computer Science, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, United States
Fabio Rinaldi, University of Zurich, Switzerland
Ovidio Salvetti, Inst. of Information Science and Technologies - ISTI, National Research Council of Italy - CNR, Italy
Filippo Sciarrone, Faculty of Economics, Universitas Mercatorum, Italy
Fabricio Silva, Information Technology Division, FIOCRUZ - Fundação Oswaldo Cruz, Brazil
Dominik Slezak, , Poland
Marcin Sydow, Independent Researcher, Poland
Andrea Tagarelli, DIMES, University of Calabria, Italy
Moritz Tenorth, Universität Bremen, Germany
Andrew J. Teoh, Yonsei University, Korea, Republic of
Ulrich Thiel, IPA-PAMB, Fraunhofer Gesellschaft, Germany
Kar A. Toh, EEE, Yonsei University, Korea, Republic of
Yannick Toussaint, Independent Researcher, France
Alicia Troncoso Lora, Ctra. Utrera, Km. 1 Pablo de Olavide University, Pablo de Olavide University of Seville, Spain
Domenico Ursino, DII, Università Politecnica delle Marche, Italy
Sebastian Wandelt, Independent Researcher, Germany
Yang Xiang, Department of Biomedical Informatics, The Ohio State University, United States
Jierui Xie, Independent Researcher, United States
JingTao Yao, University of Regina, Canada